Meet you in the middle

My head doubts I can meet you in the middle.
But somehow my feet keep moving.
A small voice cries don’t let it dwindle.
My thumping heart drums a warning.

My face tries to wear a crisp, casual look,
But still it colors with a blush.
My mouth tries to speak by the book.
Yet, from my lips soft words rush.

When it comes to you, all of me can’t agree.
Know my struggle I can’t hide.
Wonder how much of it you see.
Can you spot what’s inside?

Half hoping you don’t even try
Half hoping you sweep me away
Whole-heartedly I sigh.
Back and forth my thoughts sway.

And if we don’t get this started,
I fear my heart will turn to ice.
But I’ve been broken hearted,
And I won’t end up there twice.

Plan my actions like a player on a stage.
So my wayward wish is concealed.
Keep my weak heart in a strong cage.
Don’t want you to guess this is real.

Plot our course and our story out just so,
But you won’t stick to the script.
And I think you have to know:
I want you to make me slip.

When it comes to love, I play a steady part.
Too afraid to share something true.
Yet, in your eyes there is a spark.
Makes me want to quit my act for you.

Half hoping you won’t even try
Half hoping you sweep me away
Whole-heartedly I sigh.
Back and forth my thoughts sway.

And if we never get this started,
I fear my heart will turn to ice.
But I’ve been broken hearted,
And I won’t end up there twice.

5/6/10

Leave a Reply

