Take me on

You should know there’s thorns and barbs:
traps to protect and to wound.
They cover my fair share of scars,
and I won’t give them up too soon.

If you think you can take me on,
more power to you.
I won’t try to make it hard,
but loving me is not easy to do.

Tried to make these road blocks crumble,
clear a direct path for you.
But it’s not so flat, you won’t stumble
and there’s nothing more I can do.

If you keep pushing, I might give in.
I would say the chances are slight.
But, you always compete to win.
In spite of myself, I put up a fight.

If you think you can take me on,
more power to you.
I won’t try to make it hard,
but loving me is not easy to do.

We’ll see just how long you last.
Think you’re for the long haul.
Well other men have tried in the past,
and my cold heart chilled them all.

So, throw at me what you will.
Try to make me rage and storm.
And when I’ve kept my head still,
don’t say that you weren’t warned.

If you think you can take me on,
more power to you.
I won’t try to make it hard,
but loving me is not easy to do.

These obstacles are not intended.
I’m not trying to keep you away.
Took so long to get my fences mended,
I don’t know how to may you stay.

Tell me how…do I make you stay?

5/6/10

Leave a Reply

